Step Into My Kitchen

Hello and welcome to Market to Make It! You can find out more about who I am and what I’m doing here on my About page, but here are a few quick things you should know about me:

  • I have the cutest dog in the world. That has nothing to do with cooking, it’s just a fact. 
  • The nature of blogging will make it seem like I am the only cook in the kitchen, but my husband, D, has a very equal hand in our recipe making. Or at least he will again when he’s done with grad school in two weeks! He nearly always helps me choose new recipes and takes on half the prep work and cooking duties. Plus he does 100% of all onion chopping.
  • I eat healthy, with fresh ingredients and reasonable portions and a good variety of meal options. But this is not a strictly low fat cooking blog. I don’t eat beef (due to a childhood incident) or pork, so I don’t cook beef or pork and  you won’t see any  recipes with those ingredients here, but pretty much everything else is on the table, pun intended. This isn’t a vegetarian blog, or a vegan blog. It’s not low carb, because carbs are fabulous and you can pry them from my cold, dead hands. It’s not gluten free, or lactose free or anything else free except for cherries because I’m allergic to those. I won’t pretend to know anything about any specific type of cooking or dietary needs. I’m not interested in any judgments about the food I’m eating, or the recipes I’m making. I try for variety in my life and that’s what I’ll try to pass along here. Any and all comments are certainly welcome, but just know ahead of time that if I wanted a lecture, I’d go back to school.
  • I love olive oil, garlic and red pepper flakes.
  • I live in Baltimore, which doesn’t mean anything really food-wise, except that I have good access to seafood.
  • I love wine. I don’t know a ton about wine and I’m not at all picky when it comes to wine and food pairings. I’m just a fan is all. Wine = good.
  • Growing up, my absolute favorite meal was white rice with broccoli and tons of melted Colby Jack cheese. It’s warm and gooey and remains my number one comfort food.
  • I don’t have fancy knife skills and only semi-decent photography skills. So try not to judge me too harshly on my somewhat crappy pictures of poorly chopped food.

That’s enough about me. Let’s get on to the food! Our CSA (the guiding force behind this blog) won’t be starting until June, but between some of the stuff I’m growing on my own and what we pick up at the Farmers Market, I’ve got plenty of recipes coming your way. Stay tuned for some tasty food featuring my very own homegrown herbs!

Thanks for reading!

~C.

One thought on “Step Into My Kitchen

Leave a Reply

