Strawberry Mango Salsa

IMAG0792

The following is a brief rant about cilantro.

Nothing is a bigger waste of money than cilantro (except maybe parsley). You can only buy it in a great big bunch for recipes that always call for a bit or a pinch or just enough to keep yourself from feeling like you’ve been completely and utterly hosed by Big Cilantro and their grand money making scheme.  And I know, trust me I know that you can freeze it or dry it so that you’re not just letting it sit and rot until some rare moment when you suddenly need cilantro again, but I’ve done the whole freezing thing and always find that it ends up a bit too soggy. Plus dried cilantro really loses a lot of its flavor. I finally said no more to this cilantro nonsense and picked up a plant of my own. Everything else I’ve planted so far this year is welcome to shrivel up and die if it means the cilantro (and parsley if we’re making ridiculous wishes) will live. I refuse to buy it anymore!

End rant.

So anyway, the other day I needed some cilantro. I had decided to make a fruity salsa to accompany the fish for my failed outdoor eating extravaganza. I had a mango I needed to use up and we had some strawberries on hand, so voila, Strawberry Mango Salsa.

I kind of, sort of used this recipe as a guide, in a “what all do people put in a strawberry mango salsa?” kind of way, but I didn’t have a jalapeño and the use of honey made me wrinkle my nose, so for the most part I decided to just wing it.

The end result was delicious and would be perfect on a hot day when you want something refreshing. I highly recommend it for the next time you find yourself buying a bunch of cilantro and only using a pinch.

~C.

Strawberry Mango Salsa

Ingredients

1 mango, cubed

1 avocado, cubed

a handful of strawberries, chopped

half a red onion, coarsely chopped

a handful of cilantro, chopped

1 tomato, chopped,with some of the middle of the fruit removed to reduce the amount of liquid

a bit of olive oil, lime and cayenne pepper combined to your taste

salt to taste

Preparation

Toss everything in a bowl.

Pour the olive oil, lime and cayenne mixture over everything and mix together.

Add salt as needed.

Serve with chips.

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Mango Salsa

  1. Cilantro is one of my favorite herbs, and I always feel bad when I have to throw a bunch of it out. I had some planted in the backyard for a while when we had a backyard, but it didn’t grow very well. I think the oregano swallowed it up. It’s nice to have another recipe idea to help use up the huge bunch you have to buy at the store. Thanks.

  2. Mangos with creamy avocado and cayenne sound delicious. I totally agree on the cilantro. I throw out bunches more often than I should. Probably need to get myself one to plant too!

Leave a Reply

