Perfect Last Minute Pasta

Thursday nights are a little weird in our house. I’m usually working late and D doesn’t get back from class until close to 11pm, so the night often proceeds like this: come in, throw my bags on the floor and immediately kick off my shoes, plop down on the couch and sigh very loudly out of frustration, get up, put shoes back on, take dog for a desperately needed walk, come back home and throw together whatever will be super quick and easy for dinner, eat while watching TV, fall asleep on couch.

On nights when I’m just cooking for one, easy is my main priority, and it doesn’t get much easier than this Creamy Avocado Pasta from Two Peas & Their Pod. As is my way, I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, but the end result was still delicious. I only had half an avocado left over from a sandwich I made earlier in the day, so I essentially cut the recipe in half, except that I actually ended up adding more garlic than the recipe calls for because I just really like garlic. I didn’t have any lime, so I used lemon instead and that worked fine, though I would suggest using a little less juice than is called for if you are substituting with lemon.

The recipe tells you to blend all of your ingredients in a blender or food processor until smooth, but I have no room for additional steps or extra items to clean in my Thursday night cooking. I just mashed up the avocado as much as I could and found that the heat from the pasta helped to smooth it all out when I mixed everything together. Add a little salt and a bit of parmesan at the end and you have  last-minute pasta perfection!

~C.

 

3 thoughts on “Perfect Last Minute Pasta

    • That was my exact thought when I first came across this recipe. If I could serve it over chips and make it avocado pasta nachos, it would be the only thing I ever need for the rest of my life.

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Noodles with Avocado Cream Sauce | Market To Make It

Leave a Reply

