This Week’s Share

IMAG1035

 

Have you ever had one of those weeks where you feel like you barely have time to think or even breathe? Those are the weeks where I always end up banging my knee against the coffee table or smashing my elbow on the corner of my dresser, because it wouldn’t officially be a frustrating week if I didn’t spend some of it writhing in pain. That’s the kind of week I’m having. I bashed my head against the underside of my desk this morning. Don’t ask.

This is all a long way of saying that I have a couple of recipes that I’ve been meaning to post, but I just haven’t had the time yet to sit down and, well, breathe. Heck, I’m even a day late on posting the latest CSA bounty. I seriously just typed the word heck. This is what this week has reduced me to. It’s pathetic.

But you know what’s not pathetic? This week’s CSA share! (Totally nailed that segue.)

It’s largely more of the same–more strawberries! more lettuce! including a third kind of lettuce! more chard! more radishes!–but with the very welcome addition of kale and broccoli! Exclamation points for everyone!

I love kale. I will be sure to post lots of kale recipes because I know that it’s one of those greens where you just look at it and go, “what the heck am I supposed to do with this bitter piece of strangeness?” There’s that heck again. Is this a word that I actually tend to use?

For now, see last week’s post about how best to store strawberries, lettuce, chard and radishes. Kale follows the same rules as chard. Broccoli can be stored for up to 5 days in a plastic bag in the fridge. But honestly, who’s going to let broccoli sit for more than 5 days anyway? Broccoli is a god among mere mortal vegetables. It’s good, is what I’m saying. Really delicious. Like eating tiny, tasty trees.

Heck, I think I’ll have some right now.

~C.

Leave a Reply

