Zucchini Noodles with Avocado Cream Sauce

IMAG0725

D has a rule that the gooier, mushier and, in many cases, more disgusting a dish looks, the better it tastes. I don’t always subscribe to his theory, but in the case of these Zucchini Noodles with Avocado Cream Sauce, I have to agree. This dish was a gooey, creamy plate of deliciousness.

The original recipe calls for 5 large zucchinis, but I only had 2 medium-to-small sized zucchinis on hand from our CSA and that made more than enough noodles for two people. I didn’t cut down on the sauce despite having fewer noodles than the recipe calls for, because I love avocado and wanted to be sure there was enough sauce to coat the tofu that we added to the dish.

The recipe also calls for coconut oil for when you saute the zucchini noodles, but I just used olive oil because that’s what I cook with and I’m not about to go out and buy a whole other kind of oil just to saute 2 medium-to-small sized zucchinis.

Most recipes for zucchini noodles suggest using a mandoline or small julienne blade to make the noodles, but we just tossed them in the food processor with the grating mechanism attached (the piece that attaches to shred vegetables) and that worked fine.

IMAG0723

This dish was really easy to throw together and is a healthy alternative to the Creamy Avocado Pasta I posted a while back. I am a huge pasta fan, so anything that can be turned into noodles gets a thumbs up from me.

Enjoy!

~C.

2 thoughts on “Zucchini Noodles with Avocado Cream Sauce

Leave a Reply

