Vegetable Fritters, and Settling Back In

I have been away from my blog for a while now. At first I was getting ready to go on vacation and my schedule was packed with clients and last minute planning. Then I was on vacation, away from my computer and blissfully cut off from most of the world. And then I was back and life immediately following vacation is always more hectic than it has any right to be. I am finally feeling settled again, though, and am happily back to cooking real meals. In the week leading up to vacation, I was working until late most nights and we were throwing together whatever we had time for, mostly tacos. Then on vacation, D and I tried out a few great restaurants (I recommend Foolish Craig’s if you’re ever in Boulder, and Fresh Craft if you find yourself in Denver) and spent the rest of the time heating cans of chili over a camp stone and figuring out how to justify trail mix as a serviceable lunch for three days in a row while hiking through Rocky Mountain National Park. The short of it is, even if I had found time to sit down and post something to this blog, I wouldn’t have had anything to share. I simply haven’t been cooking.

But trust me when I say that I’m not complaining. I can’t think of anything I needed more than this specific vacation. After a long summer of many big transitions happening both in and around our lives, we very much needed to disconnect. To lose ourselves a little in the natural beauty that surrounded us. To empty our minds of everything except the effort of pulling oxygen from thinning air and the movement of one foot after another, through forests and over rocks, and back down again.

IMG_0098

It was all remarkably beautiful and very peaceful. I wouldn’t call it the most relaxing vacation ever, given that we did quite a bit of strenuous hiking, but it was certainly the most serene.

IMG_0136

But now we are back and there is food to be cooked and recipes to be shared. And so I bring you Vegetable Fritters.

This recipe comes courtesy of my Simply In Season cookbook. This recipe went over well with the crowd we were cooking for this weekend, but I found them to be a bit of a pain in the ass to make. I think these are probably healthier than most of the squash-based fritters that I’ve made in the past because you aren’t actually frying them in oil like you normally do with fritters. They act more like everyday breakfast pancakes, and any oil you use is just to keep them from sticking. The taste was good (we served them with some plain Greek yogurt and that was a nice addition), but I had a lot of trouble keeping them together in the pan. The recipe doesn’t suggest this and I didn’t really have time to do it anyway for this meal, but if I make these again in the future, I think I will salt the squash and zucchini after I shred it and then try to drain some of the water off. I think the problem I ran into is that, as the mixture sat, the liquid from the squash made the batter a little too runny, but the squash itself of course remained solid. So when it came time to actually make the fritters, the batter ran all over the pan and I’d have a clump of squash in the middle that wouldn’t cook up as fast. It was just a pain is all. Lesson learned. Drain the squash first. Heed my advice here, people. Do not let me have suffered in vain!

 

We served these alongside a really delicious grilled Basil-Buttered Salmon, and you should too, if, you know, salmon is something you enjoy.

~C.

 

Vegetable Fritters

Ingredients

1/3 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

2 eggs, beaten

3 cups summer squash, shredded

1/3 cup onion, minced, (or 2 cloves of garlic, minced)

1 tbsp fresh parsley

Preparation

Mix eggs, flour, baking powder, salt and pepper to form a smooth batter.

Add the squash, onions (or garlic), and parsley to the batter and gently mix.

Coat a frying pan with oil and heat over medium hot flame.

Add a spoonful of batter to the frypan.

Fry until golden, then turn and cook the opposite side until done.

Serve (with sour cream or Greek yogurt if you want to be like me)

One thought on “Vegetable Fritters, and Settling Back In

  1. Pingback: fritters! | Artsy Wanderer

Leave a Reply

