Sweet and Sour Swiss Chard

IMAG1321

The city will be replacing a water main in our neighborhood and they’re currently installing the temporary water system on our street. This entire week has brought us bright, early mornings where we are roused from bed by the gentle sounds of jackhammers and electric saws slicing painfully through metal. It lasts all day long and terrifies the dog to such a point that he cannot get himself to even step outside for his afternoon walk. By the end of the day, my nerves are teetering on the edge and my jaw aches from clenching my teeth each time the jackhammer starts up again. D and I are both beginning to fray. Normally, I wouldn’t wish this torture upon even my worst enemies, but since someone else’s suffering would mean that they had finally finished up on my block and moved along, I will happily pass this pain to the rest of the neighborhood. Enough is enough.

All that is to say, I’m thrilled that it’s Friday and that the weekend starts tomorrow. Temporary water systems aren’t installed on the weekends (right? RIGHT?!), tomorrow is Yom Kippur, a quiet day of reflection and trying to ignore the growing hunger in your belly and thirst in your throat, and my football team is playing a cupcake game that I’ll listen to on the radio while I clean up the house and cook a bunch of kugel. There is a quiet, peaceful purpose to these plans and I am so looking forward to it.

But before the fasting begins, let’s get back to focusing on food.

I never know quite what to do with Swiss chard. It’s so pretty and colorful, but I don’t love the taste of it straight out and when you cook it, you really need to cook the stems and the leaves separately to make sure everything is tender. More than once I’ve found myself standing in the middle of my kitchen, holding a batch of Swiss chard, unsure of how to proceed. Enter Sweet and Sour Swiss Chard.

This is crazy good.

It was pretty simple to throw together and I had everything I needed already on hand in my kitchen. Woo! I served it alongside these sesame noodles, and the two dishes complimented each other wonderfully.

Have a lovely, relaxing weekend!

~C.

 

Sweet and Sour Swiss Chard

Ingredients

1 pound Swiss chard (multiple colors)

1 medium onion, diced

1/4 cup dried cranberries or raisins

2 cloves garlic, minced

3 tbsp cider vinegar

1 1/2 tsp sugar

salt and pepper to taste

Preparation

Rinse Swiss chard, pat drive and remove stems.

Chop stems diagonally into small pieces.

Stack leaves, roll up and slice in 1 inch strips, keep separate from stems.

Set aside Swiss chard.

Sauté onion in 2 tsps olive oil over medium heat. About 5 mins until softened.

Add the chard stems, cranberries, garlic, vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper.

Cover and cook for 8 minutes.

Place the chard leaves on top of the mixture (don’t stir).

Cover and cook another 2 minutes.

Remove from heat, stir and serve.

(via Simply in Season)

Leave a Reply

