Recipes From Around The Web

IMAG1457

My favorite thing about the Internet–apart from adorable photos of cats, obviously–is that whenever I have an ingredient that I want to use, but I’m not sure what to do with it, I can type in a totally random recipe idea and voila, dinner at my fingertips.

Take last night, for instance. I knew I wanted to make mashed sweet potatoes and wilted Swiss chard tossed with cinnamon and almonds, but I needed a protein that would go well with those flavors. I had some chicken breasts and a bag of fresh cranberries. A couple taps on the keyboard and: Chicken with Cranberry Sauce. We used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and baked them at 400 instead of 450. The chicken was incredibly flavorful and was really perfectly paired with the sweet potatoes and the chard.

A few weeks back I had a spaghetti squash that I needed to use. I love spaghetti squash. It’s simple and delicious. You can just toss it with a little bit of salt and pepper, a few fresh herbs and call it a meal. But sometimes I want something a little more adventurous than strands of squash seasoned with ground pepper. I thought to myself, “I wonder if Spaghetti Squash Casserole is a thing…” It is! {Spaghetti Squash Casserole with Ricotta and Spinach}

I think my favorite random Internet find came when I had sweet potatoes, bok choy and a can of chickpeas. I typed those three things into a search and discovered BBQ Chickpeas with Sweet Potatoes and Bok Choy. It doesn’t really sound like much, but it was surprisingly good and very filling.

Enjoy!

~C.

Leave a Reply

