Spinach-Kiwi Cooler

photo 1

After a winter in which I ate mostly hearty, thick meals and frankly drank way too much beer, I’m excited to welcome spring and return to lighter, healthier meals with lots of fresh ingredients. The local farmers market started up again this weekend and before we know it, it will be June and our CSA will be back in full swing.

With the shift into spring, I have found myself craving green smoothies. They are so refreshing and it is an easy, tasty way for me to boost my low iron levels. This particular smoothie (from my new Runner’s World Cookbook!) is really light and not overly sweet. D and I made these yesterday and enjoyed them while sitting out in the sun. Yay, spring!

 

What You’ll Need:

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 cup fresh spinach
  • 1 kiwi, sliced
  • 1/2 frozen banana sliced (or if you don’t have a frozen banana, just use a regular banana and toss in a few ice cubes)

What You’ll Do:

  • Throw it all in a blender and process until smooth
  • Enjoy!

 

~C.

Leave a Reply

